Baby products, Child development, Early Years, First time Mum, food, Parent, Weaning

Weaning Wednesday – Breakfast

Breakfast is never something I have been good at. Before getting pregnant it was very rare that I had breakfast and if I did, it would have to be an hour or so after I woke up. When I found out I was expecting I made the effort to always eat something but it is never anything exciting and I fear I am going down the same route with Samuel. I seem to be giving him the same things and have only, a couple of times, tried to mix it up a bit. By writing this post I hope to inspire myself to get more adventurous with both Samuels and my own breakfast choices. 

When we first introduced Samuel to breakfast we started off with rusk mixed with a bit of milk. This went down well and as he got used to it we made it thicker and thicker. We then moved on to baby porridge. We used the plain aptimal one and Samuel loved it. This was something we then stuck with for a long time as we knew he would eat it. It wasn’t until he was nearly 7 months that we tried other things. 

Toast is now a popular choice with Samuel. We just toast it lightly and cut into strips. Weatabix is also a favourite and I just mix it up with some warm formula milk. 

This week Samuel has tried scrambled egg, which he really liked and the new Ella’s Kitchen brekkie pouches which he has also found tasty. 

Samuels other breakfast tries have been beans on toast, crumpets and American pancakes. Over the next few weeks it is my aim to try some of the breakfast choices from the list I posted last week and hopefully make our mornings a little more interesting. 

Leave a Reply

